Poem: Leave Me Be

Slighted,

pushed to the side, a smear on the window,

incomplete inside.

I’m a failure, a soldier, a daughter, a friend.

I’m everything, I’m nothing, a poem with no end.

I’m hungry inside, for life, for success,

But your ambition for you is putting me to the test.

There’s a hole in the middle,

There’s  a drain on my soul,

Your words put me under,

I have no control,

Back off.

Or I’ll surrender to the pain,

I’ll let my world stop spinning,

I’ll dance to my grave.

Leave a Reply

