Associate Editor

The last interview I did was for an associate editor position at this publishing house. I don’t know why, I applied more just for the hell of it and then got an interview and thought fuck it so went. Didn’t think much would come of it, i mean this is a job I actually wanted; a career job that was the reason for taking my degree. Even dad was confused as to why I’d bother and said I wouldn’t get it. The interview went ok I thought, I was there for over an hour which seemed like a lot of time to waste on someone they weren’t really considering. I was told that they would get back to me within a week and off I went on my merry way. Well, up yours everyone, HA dad! The very next freaking day I was told I had the job!! Firstly thank god, cause the whole starbucks/cinema thing was really dragging me down; I just know I’m better than being some minion slaving away for minimum wage and even after two shifts at the movies my back has been starting to complain. I just can’t believe it, I really can’t believe that I get to work with books and authors and have my own cubicle and be an actual grown up with a grown up job! For the first time in a long time I’m proud of myself and feel like someone has actually seen my worth and is giving me a break. So I start tomorrow after a pap appointment which I am just oh so excited for aha. Just got to make sure I’ve got my big girl outfit all ready to go!

Leave a Reply

